Richard Yates

Richard Yates (February 3, 1926 – November 7, 1992) was an American writer.

He attended Avon Old Farms School in Avon, Connecticut, and later joined the Army, serving in France and Germany during World War II. In 1946, Yates returned to New York, where he worked as a journalist and publicity writer. After starting his career as a novelist in 1961, he lectured at Columbia University, the New School for Social Research, Boston University, among other institutions.

Yates died of emphysema in 1992.


  • Finalist for the National Book Award (1961) for Revolutionary Road


  • Revolutionary Road (1961)
  • Eleven Kinds of Loneliness (1962) (stories)
  • A Special Providence (1969)
  • Disturbing the Peace (1975)
  • The Easter Parade (1976)
  • A Good School (1978)
  • Liars in Love (1981) (stories)
  • Young Hearts Crying (1984)
  • Cold Spring Harbor (1986)
  • The Collected Stories of Richard Yates (2001)

About him

  • A Tragic Honesty: The Life and Work of Richard Yates, by Blake Bailey (2003)
  • Dismembering the American Dream: the Life and Fiction of Richard Yates, by Kate Charlton-Jones (2014)

2 thoughts on “Richard Yates

  1. Great post! I am a huge fan of Yates, and that because of one book – Revolutionary Road, one of the greatest debut novels of all times. I can’t remember the number of times I cried upon finishing it. It is so masterful and emotional. A definite heart-breaker.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.