Maggie O’Farrell

Maggie O’Farrell (1972) is a Northern Irish novelist.

Born in Northern Ireland, and raised in Wales and Scotland, Maggie studied English at Cambridge. She has worked as a journalist and taught creative writing. 


  • Winner of the Costa Book Awards (Novel, 2010) for The Hand That First Held Mine
  • Shortlisted for the Costa Book Awards (Novel, 2013) for Instructions for a Heatwave



  • After You’d Gone (2000)
  • My Lover’s Lover (2002)
  • The Distance Between Us (2004)
  • The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox (2007)
  • The Hand That First Held Mine (2010)
  • Instructions for a Heatwave (2013)
  • This Must Be the Place (2016)


2 thoughts on “Maggie O’Farrell

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.