Emily Brontë

Emily Brontë (Emily Jane Brontë, 30 July 1818 – 19 December 1848) was an English writer. She published under the pen name Ellis Bell.

She was educated mostly at home by her father and her mother’s siter, Elizabeth Branwell. At age of six, she was sent to the Clergy Daughters’ School at Cowan Bridge, where she stayed with her sisters for a brief period. At seventeen, Emily began to attend the Roe Head Girls’ School, where her sister Charlotte was a teacher, but left after a few months, due to her extreme shyness and homesickness. In 1838, she started to work as a teacher at Law Hill School in Halifax, but she returned home a few months later, in April 1839. In 1842, Emily went to the Héger Pensionnat in Brussels, Belgium, together with Charlotte, where they attended the girls’ academy run by Constantin Héger.

Emily died of  tuberculosis, at age 30, one year after the publication of her novel Wuthering Heights.


About her

  • Emily Brontë Reappraised by Claire O’Callaghan (2018)
  • To Walk Invisible (TV Movie, 2016, IMDb)
  • The World Within: A Novel of Emily Brontë by Jane Eagland (2015)
  • Romancing Miss Brontë by Juliet Gael (2010)
  • Emily’s Ghost: A Novel of the Brontë Sisters, by Denise Giardina (2009)
  • Charlotte and Emily: A Novel of the Brontës, by Jude Morgan (2009)
  • The Taste of Sorrow by Jude Morgan (2009)
  • Shaggy Muses: The Dogs Who Inspired Emily Brontë, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Emily Dickinson, Edith Wharton, and Virginia Woolf, by Maureen Adams (2007)
  • The Brontë Myth, by Lucasta Miller (2001)
  • The Brontës, by Juliet Barker (2000)
  • Emily Brontë, by Steven Vine (1998)
  • The Birth of Wuthering Heights, by Edward Chitham  (1998)
  • Victorian Ghosts in the Noontide: Women Writers and the Supernatural, by Vanessa D. Dickerson (1996)
  • Emily Brontë: Heretic by Stevie Davies (1997)
  • Brontë by Glyn Hughes (1996)
  • A Chainless Soul: A Life of Emily Brontë, by Katherine Frank (1992)
  • Emily Bronte, by Lyn Pykett (1989)
  • The Brontës: Charlotte Brontë and her family, by Rebeca Fraser (1988)
  • A Life of Emily Bronte, by Edward Chitham (1987)
  • The Brontës: The Critical Heritage, by Miriam Allott (1984)
  • In the Footsteps of the Brontës, by Ellis Chadwick (1982)
  • Emily Brontë, by Richard Benvenuto (1982)
  • The Art of Emily Bronte, edited by Anne Smith (1980)
  • Emily Brontë, by Charles Simpson (1977)
  • Path to the Silent Country: Charlotte Brontë’s Years of Fame, by Lynne Reid Banks (1977)
  • Dark Quartet: The Story of the Brontës, by Lynne Reid Banks (1976)
  • Emily Brontë, by Winifred Gérin (1971)
  • Emily Brontë. Her Life and Work, by Muriel Spark (1960)
  • The Brontës’ Web of Childhood, by Fannie Ratchford (1941)
  • The Brontës: Their Lives, Friendships and Correspondences, edited by T. J. Wise and  J. A. Symington (1932)
  • Emily Brontë, by F. Mary A. Robinson (1883)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.