Barbara Comyns

Barbara Comyns (Barbara Irene Veronica Comyns Carr, 1907 – 1992) was an English writer.

She attended art school in Stratford-upon-Avon, and later moved to London to attend Heatherley School of Fine Art. She had various jobs (dealing in antiques, breeding dogs, drawing for commercial advertisements, cooking in a country house), and began to write professionally in the 1940’s. She moved to Spain in the 1950’s, and returned to England in 1973.


  • Sisters by a River (1947)
  • Our Spoons Came from Woolworths (1950)
  • Who Was Changed and Who Was Dead (1954)
  • The Vet’s Daughter (1959)
  • Out of the Red and into the Blue (1960)
  • The Skin Chairs (1962)
  • Birds in Tiny Cages (1964)
  • A Touch of Mistletoe (1967)
  • The Juniper Tree (1985)
  • Mr. Fox (1987)
  • The House of Dolls (1989).

2 thoughts on “Barbara Comyns

Leave a Reply to Melissa Beck Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.