Ethel Wilson

Ethel Davis Wilson (née Bryant. January 20, 1888 – December 22, 1980) was a Canadian writer.

Born in South Africa, she moved to England in 1890 after the death of her mother, and soon after, in 1898, she was taken to Canada, after the death of her father, to live with her maternal grandmother. She received a teacher’s certificate in 1907, and worked in elementary schools in Vancouver.


  • Canada Council Medal in 1961
  • Royal Society of Canada’s Lorne Pierce Medal in 1964
  • Officer of the Order of Canada in 1970.


  • Hetty Dorval (1947)
  • The Innocent Traveller  (1949)
  • The Equations of Love  (1952)
  • Swamp Angel  (1954)
  • Love and Salt Water  (1956)
  • Mrs. Golightly and Other Stories  (1961)
  • Ethel Wilson: Stories, Essays, and Letters  (1987, edited by David Stouck)

Books about Ethel Wilson

  • Ethel Wilson (1967) by Desmond Pacey
  • The Other Side of Silence: A Life of Ethel Wilson (1988) by Mary McAlpine
  • Ethel Wilson: A Critical Biography (2003) by David Stouck

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.