Mary Jane Ward

Mary Jane Ward (August 27, 1905 – February 17, 1981) was an American writer.

Ward studied English at Northwestern University and at the Chicago’s Lyceum of Arts Conservatory, and worked as a book reviewer for the Evanston News-Index. She moved with her husband to Greenwich Village in 1939. Shortly afterwards, she suffered a nervous breakdown due to financial troubles, and had to spend eight months interned at Rockland State Hospital in Orangeburg, New York, where she was misdiagnosed as schizophrenic and treated with scalding baths and electroshock. Ward was hospitalized for psychiatric issues three more times during her lifetime.


  • The Tree Has Roots (1937)
  • The Wax Apple (1938)
  • The Snake Pit (1946)
  • The Professor’s Umbrella (1948)
  • A Little Night Music (1951)
  • It’s Different for a Woman (1952)
  • Counterclockwise (1969)
  • The Other Caroline (1970)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.