Mary Hocking

Mary Hocking (8 April 1921 – 17 February 2014) was a British writer. Born in in London, she studied at Haberdashers’ Aske’s Girls School, Acton. During the Second World War she served in the Women’s Royal Naval Service (Wrens) attached to the Fleet Air Arm Meteorology branch and then briefly with the Signal Section in Plymouth.

After the War, she worked as a local government officer in Middlesex Education Department. While working, she published short stories and pieces for magazines and for The Times Educational Supplement. After her first book, The Winter City (1961), was published, and due to its critical acclaim, she became a full-time writer. In 1961, Hocking moved to Lewes, East Sussex, where she took a part-time appointment, as a secretary, with the East Sussex Educational Psychology department.

She died in 2014.


  • The Winter City (1961)
  • Visitors to the Crescent (1962)
  • The Sparrow (1964)
  • The Young Spaniard (1965)
  • Ask No Question (1967)
  • A Time of War (1968)
  • Checkmate (1969)
  • The Hopeful Traveller (1970)
  • The Climbing Frame (1971)
  • Family Circle (1972)
  • Daniel Come to Judgement (1974)
  • The Bright Day (1975)
  • The Mind has Mountains (1976)
  • Look, Stranger! (1978)
  • He Who Plays the King (1980)
  • March House (1981)
  • Good Daughters (1984)
  • Indifferent Heroes (1985)
  • Welcome, Stranger (1988)
  • An Irrelevant Woman (1987)
  • A Particular Place (1989)
  • Letters from Constance (1991)
  • The Very Dead of Winter (1993)
  • The Meeting Place (1996)

2 thoughts on “Mary Hocking

Leave a Reply to juliana Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.