Rosamond Lehmann

Rosamond Nina Lehmann (3 February 1901 – 12 March 1990) was a British writer.

She was educated at home, and later graduated in both English Literature (1921) and Modern and Medieval Languages (1922) from Girton College, University of Cambridge. She married twice, had two children with her second husband, got divorced, and had various love affairs, including the married poet Cecil Day-Lewis.

Lehmann was awarded the CBE in 1982.


  • Dusty Answer (1927)
  • A Note in Music (1930)
  • Invitation to the Waltz (1932)
  • The Weather in the Streets (1936)
  • No More Music (1939)
  • The Ballad and the Source (1944)
  • Orion (as editor) (1945)
  • The Gipsy’s Baby & Other Stories (1946)
  • The Echoing Grove (1953)
  • The Swan in the Evening: Fragments of an Inner Life (1967) (non-fiction)
  • A Sea-Grape Tree (1976)
  • My Dear Alexias: Letters from Wellesley Tudor Pole to Rosamond Lehmann, by Rosamond Lehmann (1979)
  • Moments of Truth (1986) (anthology, non-fiction)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.